h1

Second Annual Throwdown!

January 10, 2008

Just to clarify, this is NOT a distance challenge (Spud), it is an attempt to get in the pool for 29 days straight (a new record here at the FSC Offices) and swim at least a half mile each day.

You can participate from any location, (you don’t need to be a member at the YMCA or any fancy health club / GRCC, EGR Rec Dept all sell monthly pool only passes.)  in any city, and you can swim your half mile any way you want. (drills, kicks, breast stroke, whatever!)

If you choose to participate, we guarantee you will have itchy dry skin, wiry strawhair and bloodshot eyes (get good goggles).  We also guarantee that you will drive to a pool in a snow-storm, freak out your non-swimming friends at how obsessed you are with this challenge and you’ll make some friends, have a good time and certainly become a stronger swimmer.  Reply to this post with your name, location and email address to get in the fray.
25 comments

  1. Well, I’m in for sure…but where are we gonna swim those 2 days we’re in Canada Ice Climbing? Can anyone say Polar Bear club?


  2. I am in!


  3. Yeah, I’m in


  4. I’m in.


  5. I’m in. Not sure about the Polar Bear Club JR!!!


  6. Count me in! Looking forward to the itchy skin and straw hair once again.


  7. Count me in. Reuben said he couldn’t commit, but was willing to run some stroke clinics if anyone was interested.


  8. I’m in!


  9. I’m in – not looking forward to the itchy skin!


  10. Last year was a ton of fun. Count me in for this year.

    Perry, thanks for inviting me.


  11. Yes, I’m in too. But, I can’t commit to doing much before the marathon on Feb 3. 🙂


  12. I’m in. I’m also in for the “polar bear” dunk while ice climbing. From what JR says….completely submerged into Lake Superior (with witnesses) equals a 2000 yard day in the pool.


  13. Rudy, as the unofficial moderator of the swim challenge, is this a valid substitute for those 2 days in Canada we’ll be without a pool?


  14. I am in!! Can’t wait..Does playing in a water polo tournament the first 3 days count?


  15. So it begins…


  16. 7 days left….then it begins. Last night I had to swim in Detroit at Warren Community Center, talk about warm/hot water. Not so fun. But the kids on the water slide were nice and toastie.


  17. Looking forward to this again…I say we try and plan some weekend sessions together this time around…Im up for it if anyone else is.


  18. As if I’m going to turn down a challenge Andy Van Dusen has committed to …


  19. I’m in. 🙂


  20. Count me in… need to get back into the pool. If you get something going like this for the run let me know…. my worst event.


  21. I am in. I suppose.


  22. I am in, and I am ready to lose more hair from the pool chemicals and the body fluids Pat C


  23. Thanks for invite JR! Count me in!


  24. O.K., since I can’t run, I’m in too!


  25. I’m in!



Leave a Reply

